How to start eating healthy

I am a self-declared health-food foodie. But every once in a while I find myself completely falling off the wagon.

I find it more and more difficult to resist the temptations of eating something unhealthy and soon, my body goes from craving healthy food to craving unhealthy food.

Having fallen off the wagon and gotten back on successfully multiple times, here are some quick tips to help you get and stay healthy:

Tips to eat.png

1. Clean out your kitchen

This is the first step to your journey. I find that cleaning out my kitchen and getting rid of everything that I know is unhealthy for me is an amazing way to control what I eat. If I really want to eat a cupcake and I have only fruit at home – guess what I’m going to end up eating?

Yep – you got it. I’ll finally end up eating an apple or grabbing a bunch of nuts.

PRO TIP: Do not: hide away your “treats.” Get rid of them completely.

2. Shop smart

Now that you have cleaned out your kitchen, it is important to keep it clean. When you are out grocery shopping, you need to stop the evil from getting back in. Do not buy anything that you know is unhealthy for you.

It also helps to have a shopping list.

3. Learn to cook

I cannot emphasise this enough. Learning to cook gives you the power to decide what you are going to eat and when you are going to eat it. It also allows you to customize the food you are eating – maybe you feel like a little extra spice today?

4. Indulge your tastebuds – with healthy alternatives

This is the part where it all gets fun!

One of the things that I love most about cooking is that I have found many healthier alternatives to the unhealthy food that I love. I find that I can introduce the same flavors, the same textures etc by using healthy alternatives. You can get creative and indulge yourself in the flavors you love.

5. Plan, plan, plan! 

I overestimated the power of this – but once I’ve gotten into the flow of planning – it makes your life so simple. You know exactly what you need to buy when you are grocery shopping, exactly what to prep when and you don’t waste your time wondering what to eat.

Plan out your meals a week at a time! I find that keeping a list of simple, healthy recipes really helps.

Here is my youtube channel where I make quick meals and snacks live, so you know exactly how long it takes:

6. KISS – keep it simple stupid

Health food recipes often feel like too much work. Too many ingredients to prep and takes way too much time. The simplest way to battle this is by keeping it simple.

Keep the recipes you plan to use on the week-days simple and pick up pre-cut salad greens, veggies and fruit to save your time!

Hope this article helps! I know its a long and difficult journey but together we can do it! Let me know if you have any other tips that have really worked for you!

Leave a Reply

