The Right Friends

right friends frienship

 

From the beginning of time, my parents and teachers would always talk about “having the right friends.” Over the years, magazines, blogs and quotes kept popping up – “show me your friends and I will show you who you are,” or “you become most like the people you spend most of your time with.”

Until recently – friends were just … friends. Some  very similar and some very different in every way – attitudes, lifestyles and where we wanted to go in life. But until recently – I had no idea how much having the right or wrong friends can change your life.

Looking back at my life – there have been plenty of friends who have come and gone; but there are a few that have changed the way I live completely.

I am lucky enough to be surrounded by the most amazing people: enthusiastic, go-getters, achievers, and people who in all honesty – live like they are accounting for every second that life has handed to them – and their spirited way of looking at things has changed my life.

My life used to be about – staying up late and waking up – whenever – and I could have counted on my fingertips the number of times I had seen the sun-rise …. exactly 5. Procrastination was my middle name. And let’s face the facts – I was living the lazy kind of life.

Slowly – over time – as I started to learn what was important to me- my attitudes changed. As I made adjustments to be healthier, happier, more hard working, to be more creative, to be more enthusiastic – the right people came into my life.

Friends – that wake me up at 5 AM. Friends that I see at the gym at 6 AM. Friends that wake up at 6.30 on a Sunday morning to go for a run. Friends that are always doing new, exciting things. Friends that are always learning.

I feel so indebted to them – because of one simple reason:

The things in life that are most worth it are never easy to get. Its easier to be inactive and watch TV than make an effort to hit the gym. Its easier to grab a McDonalds burger than it is to make your own salad for dinner. Its easier to do nothing than make a commitment and follow through. Its easier to hit snooze than wake up at 5 AM. So, when you are trying to do the things that are best for you, and not just the easiest – its easy to fall off the band wagon.

If you have the right friends, and the right attitudes around you – it’ll be so much easier to get back on track in case you get a little lost.

I look around me and I see the most amazing people in my closest circle. I would love to show them off – and I am so proud of each and every one of them.

You people so make my day, my week, my year and my life worth it!

You know who you are and -thank you for everything- and a whole lotta love!

9 thoughts on “The Right Friends

  1. felukny says:

    This message is interesting because we can realize that is really good have different kind of friends so we can learn a lot of different things with each one! Imagine with we just have friends like we are….would be boring and nothing new…

Leave a Reply

