The Happiness Secret

The Happiness Secret

Well, while I was in my slump – I was busy looking for the secret of happiness and success and these are the two things that showed up consistently:

1. Daily Meditation:

Oprah Winfrey to Deepak Chopra to some of the biggest shot CEOs of today’s times- they all meditate every day.

This I completely agree with. Daily meditation just clears your energy and deletes negative energy from your space.

You can find more inspiration from this article on the Huffington Post:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/07/05/business-meditation-executives-meditate_n_3528731.html

2. Wake up at or before 6 AM

Being a self-proclaimed night owl who can count the number of times I have seen the sunrise on my finger tips – this was not good news for me.

But I decided to give it a shot – and this is what I learned.

1. If you set your biological clock to wake up early – waking up isn’t so bad.

2. Waking up early without an alarm is the coolest thing ever.

3. You need a reason to wake up.

This is the most important of all. I woke up plenty of times in the past two weeks somewhere around 6 AM. I had nothing to do – so I went back to sleep.

4. You get so much more time.

Ya, I hear you – every morning person alive has said this to you already – but I want to share an experience with you.

I normally get out of bed by around 9 AM and one morning work started at 7; so I was up by 5.

After being up for 4 hours, the girl next to me took out a little box – and I automatically said “Lunch?”

She gave me the weirdest look I’ve ever seen – and said … “No – its 9, breakfast.”

WOW. I just had 4 hours of time BEFORE breakfast. Normally 4 hours after I wake up is lunch time. And these early hours in the morning are really productive.

Hope it helps!

10 thoughts on “The Happiness Secret

    • sbahirat says:

      Me too! I have been hearing/seeing it around me for almost a month now and my internal clock is starting to listen now! Its amazing! Has it worked for you? Are you finding yourself waking up earlier than you normally do?

  1. kingmidget says:

    You’re definitely on to something about waking up early. I started waking up naturally around 6:00 a handful of years ago. Get a lot more done early in the day before anybody else is up.

      • kingmidget says:

        When I woke up yesterday morning and went outside to get the newspaper (yes, some people still get their news the old fashioned way), I looked to the east and realized I was seeing the beginnings of the sun rise. Now if only the houses across the street didn’t block the view, I probably would have stayed outside and watched.

      • sbahirat says:

        Aw terrible. That happens to me too. The building in front is so tall I can’t see the Sun still 9!!!!

        I’m still to watch my first sunrise. #bucketlist

Leave a Reply

