The Family

The Family

I need to explain something here. In India, children, no matter how old – 20, 25, 30, 40 – live with their parents if they live in the same city. Its perfectly normal and has been this way for years. Moving out and living in the same city is incomprehensible to most people. My family is quite the same.

Its a lovely thing, you really begin to understand your family and the relationships can become really strong …. sometimes.

I come from a family where drinking, going out partying or even to a club is virtually taboo.

I, on the other hand- am a social butterfly – for all things that have to do with people, music, food, dance – you name it. If there is a party happening, its difficult for me to resist.

So like any family, with such opposite points of view we would often have our tiffs. My parents though have been really forward coming and very trusting – and over the last few years they have given me more freedom than I could ever have dreamed of.

Having said that, I would never have imagined that me, my brother and my parents would have a friends circle that all of us fit into – effortlessly.

The story begins at our local toastmasters club, where we all joined to perfect the art of public speaking. But what we really learned was something entirely different. [We learned public speaking too.]

We learned that we have a lot more in common than we thought. We found a group of friends from different walks of life – some still in college, many working, some a few years older than me, some my parent’s age and some the age of my grandparents.

But when we get together outside the club – the feeling of warmth, love and friendship overwhelms me every time.

Now, I can proudly say – I went out with my friends on Saturday night. And my parents were right next to me. We all had the best time. They are probably going to out a place like this for the first time in their lives – and through our newly found group – they get to be young, wild and carefree again.

When was the last time you went out and had so much fun with your family? Do something with your family that all of you will enjoy. There is something magical about it.

Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “The Family

Leave a Reply

