spend time not money

Spend Time, not money

A while ago, and it got me thinking about time. Time is the most valuable asset we have. We have so much and so little all at once.

I decided to make a conscious effort to spend a little bit more time with the people that matter to me the most – even if it is just to ask them how their day was, or if they need a little help. And the results have been phenomenal.

Yesterday, I spent a little time with a friend – I picked her up – we drove to the gym together. Normally I would have switched on the radio, but I turned it off. We had a great conversation. At the gym, I helped her out with a few exercises. And the smile on her face just said it all – and now, I found myself a gym buddy.

I came home after a long day and asked my mom if she wanted help with dinner. She asked me to put the tomatos away and add a little pepper to the soup. It wasn’t much – but it gave me the opportunity to ask her about her day- and she was really excited to talk about a performance she attended.

It may not seem like a lot, but one conversation like this a day and everyone in my life started to feel so much more special and less taken for granted.

I expected people to know they meant a lot to me – now that I try to show them – I can feel the difference. They have brighter smiles when they see me, there is more joy and happiness in the way they speak to me, and those little accomplishments – have started to become a part of the conversation!

I’m sure this is one of the keys to love, joy and happiness.

2 thoughts on “spend time not money

    • sbahirat says:

      So true! But I think everyone has so much to do in life – that taking time out has become a huge effort. I feel like that some times too – but being able to hit the pause button is so important!

Leave a Reply

